The National Security Division was established in January 2014. Its mandate, inter alia, includes provision of secretariat services to the National Security Committee (NSC), drafting of National Security Policy (NSP) and engagement with international partners in a dialogue on issues relevant to national security of Pakistan. The Division is headed by Minister for National Security. Presently, the Division comprises a small number of officers including Secretary, Additional Secretary and a Joint Secretary. The National Security Committee (NSC) is the principal decision making body on National Security matters.  The NSC is supported by two principal sub-committees – a Planning committee and a Research Committee/Advisory Board. The former identifies issues and topics for research by the latter. 



Our endeavours are focused on integrating various initiatives for national peace, security and stability as well as social progress and economic prosperity into a common master plan based on principles and purposes of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan. Formulation and implementation of this master plan is a high priority for this newly created Division. In this connection, promotion of national consensus on various elements of national security is also important. Our efforts are devoted to achieve this consensus including by holding periodic meetings of the National Security Committee (NSC). As security becomes complex, need to promote international dialogue on its various facets is further highlighted. The Division also aims to build international synergies and cooperation on matters in security domain.